Yorkshire Parkin Cake

Heralding from Northern England Parkin is a real family favourite. It is a gingerbread cake traditionally made with oatmeal, treacle and syrup. As a child I have to admit I didn’t eat lots of it but just recently I can’t get enough of it!

My mum is very fond of it, so I wanted to make her a batch but struggled to find a reliable recipe. Finally, after much research I stumbled across this recipe and it works! I have tried it several times and it always turns out the same. This is surprising as it can be difficult to get consistency with cakes that contain syrup/treacle as the measurements can vary each time and effect the bake.

A cracking cake served warm with custard or you can leave it for a few days or more, if you can resist, to get more moist and sticky. Give it a try a Phenomenal Parkin

20141222-193241.jpg

20150310-180458.jpg

4 thoughts on “Yorkshire Parkin Cake

Leave a Reply

